The Story of a New Name by Elena Ferrante, Ann Goldstein (Translator) (The Neapolitan Novels #2)

‘In the spring of 1966, Lila, in a state of great agitation, entrusted to me a metal box that contained eight notebooks.’

After finishing the first novel in this series, I moved straight onto the second. I was curious to see what would happen next to Lila and Elena (also known as Lenù). Lila marries Stefano at age sixteen. She is no longer poor but is not happy with other aspects of the life she has chosen. Lenù chooses a different path to try to escape poverty. And, even as she works towards academic success, Lenù still feels overshadowed by Lila.

Here I need to make a confession. I did not like Lila: her opportunism and manipulation of Lenù (and others) drained much of my sympathy for her. And yet, Lila helps Lenù in several different ways. While I sometimes wanted to shake Lenù (‘wake up, you are better than this’) I could empathise with many aspects of her struggle. Can Lenù move beyond her complicated (and sometimes toxic) relationship with Lila?

Lila and Lenù become adults. Lila, while retaining her curiosity about the world and the people within it, lives dangerously. Lenù has a different focus. If Lina is focussed on the personal, Lenù tries to focus on a better world.

My feelings wavered during the novel. Ms Ferrante had me feeling sad, then angry as both women grappled with the weight of a patriarchal society as well as (for Lenù) the burden of poverty. Can either find happiness?

I need to read the third novel, but not yet.

Jennifer Cameron-Smith