This Thing of Darkness by Harry Thompson

‘This thing of darkness I acknowledge mine’ (from The Tempest)

The suicide of a British naval captain in 1828 while charting Tierra Del Feugo leads to the appointment of Robert FitzRoy as the commander of the Beagle. He advertises for a ship’s naturalist, and Charles Darwin is appointed.

Robert FitzRoy is a gifted leader of men and a brilliant lateral thinker but is also prone to episodes of deep despair (presented, most likely, as bi-polar depression)

In this novel, which is based on history, Thompson explores ideas and relationships. Initially at least, this is as a naval adventure story which combines episodes of violence, danger, and catastrophe.

When Darwin and FitzRoy part company, the story moves more deeply into the politics of influence and of conflicting beliefs. On one level (but not entirely consistent with the history) neither man is as fully developed individually as they are whilst operating as a team on the Beagle.

I found the story of FitzRoy more interesting, but probably because I know less about him. I suspect that dealing with two larger than life characters became more challenging once their spheres of influence became more separate and once ‘known fact’ impinged more on the story itself.

This is a marvellous novel. It combines adventure, history, discovery, and human weaknesses in a way which left me wanting to know more about both men and wondering, too, about the power of coincidence in life.

Sadly, Harry Thompson died on 7 November 2005 aged only 45.

Highly recommended.

Jennifer Cameron-Smith

NOTE: I read this book way back in 2006, long before this blog existed. So, I am sharing my review of a book that still lingers in my mind.