Waiting by Philip Salom

‘Their two figures move up and down, and onwards as always.’

I picked up this novel, read the first paragraphs, started recognising people and wondered where Mr Salom came to know them well enough to include them in this marvellous novel.

No, I’ve never lived in a Melbourne rooming house, but I’ve had friends who lived in similar places in Canberra and elsewhere. I never knew who I might meet either late at night or early in the morning. But I’ve already digressed. Back to Big and Little who were (for me) the two main characters in this novel. Big, the hefty cross-dresser, reminds me of a similar character I used to meet on my early morning walks. Little, who lives with lupus, brought back memories of a family member with lupus. Both the people I am reminded of are now dead, which somehow made both Big and Little more real.

Here they both are, living in a rooming house in Melbourne’s inner suburbs. And, being a rooming house, the place is full of colourful characters some of whom occupy their own alternate worlds much of the time.  Little has the prospect of an inheritance from her mother. Not, though, if her aunts can prevent it. Big is worried about any change to the status quo, and the pair of them walk around the streets of Melbourne observing others and talking about the possibilities that Little’s mother’s home in Adelaide might offer.

There are two other major characters as well. Meet Angus, a landscape gardener, who is Little’s cousin. His mother wants him to meet Little. Angus meets Jasmin, an academic. While Jasmin did not have much impact on me, she too is waiting.

In addition to waiting for Little’s inheritance, Big and Little become energised when a change to their rooming house is proposed which would seem the common space removed to make way for more boarders.

Big and Little live their lives on the margins in a world that most of us do not see and (if we do) rarely understand or appreciate. They are both vulnerable (as are Angus and Jasmin, in different ways) and they are aware of this. Both crave security but have different views about how to attain it.

I finished this novel full of admiration for the way in which Mr Salom brought both people and place to life.

Highly recommended.

Jennifer Cameron-Smith

2 thoughts on “Waiting by Philip Salom

Leave a comment