My Six in Six – 2023

I discovered this meme via My Six in Six — 2023 | ANZ LitLovers LitBlog who discovered in on  Booker Talk who got it … from Susan at A Life in Books who found it on the Pyrenees to Pennines. The idea originated with Jo at The Book Jotter who, over the years, has developed a long list of topics from which we can choose.

How can I resist? I love these book chains!

What is it all about?

(I’ve copied this explanation from Jo at The Book Jotter ):

‘The idea being that as the end of June approaches and we are then halfway through the year, let us share the books we have read in those first 6 months. In fact let’s share 6 books in 6 categories, or if time is of the essence then simply share just 6 books. Whatever combination works for you as long as it involves 6 books. Of course the same book can obviously feature in more than one category.’

This is the first time I have participated in this meme, and I have chosen the following six categories (the links lead to my reviews on this blog):

1. Six new authors to me:

Song of the Sun God by Shankari Chandran

The Wakes by Dianne Yarwood

Go as a River by Shelley Read

Elizabeth and John: The Macarthurs of Elizabeth Farm by Alan Atkinson

Untethered by Ayesha Inoon

The Five by Hallie Rubenhold

2. Six authors I have read before:

To Calais in Ordinary Time by James Meek

The Kingdoms by Natasha Pulley

The Fire and the Rose by Robyn Cadwallader

Gemini (HoN #8) by Dorothy Dunnett

Giving up the Ghost by Hilary Mantel

The Slowworm’s Song by Andrew Miller

3. Six books I have enjoyed the most:

Time Shelter by Georgi Gospodinov, translated by Angela Rodel

Old God’s Time by Sebastian Barry

Sweeney and the Bicycles by Philip Salom

Trust by Hernan Diaz

Cold People by Tom Rob Smith

Carmen and Grace by Melissa Coss Aquino

4. Six mysteries, thrillers or crime novels NOT by Agatha Christie:

Flesh and Blood (DS Aector McAvoy #11) by David Mark

Deep and Deadly (Inspector Torquil McKinnon #7) by Keith Moray

Desert Star (Harry Bosch #24) by Michael Connelly

Damnation Games edited by Alan Baxter

Ozark Dogs by Eli Cranor

Moscow Exile (Joe Wilderness #4) by John Lawton

5. Six Non-US/Non-British Authors:

My Brilliant Friend (Neapolitan Novels #1)  by Elena Ferrante

Locked Ward by Ann Buist

Freedom only Freedom by Behrouz Boochani

The Glass Hotel by Emily St John Mandel

Scavengers by Robert Hood

Tongerlongeter: First Nations Leader and Tasmanian War Hero  by Henry Reynolds and Nicholas Clements

6. Six books set in a country other than my own:

Age of Vice by Deepti Kapoor

Indelible City by Louisa Lim

The Bookbinder of Jericho by Pip Williams

Now We Shall be Entirely Free by Andrew Miller

The Marriage Portrait by Maggie O’Farrell

The Lincoln Highway by Amor Towles

4 thoughts on “My Six in Six – 2023

  1. I’m definitely going to chase up that one by Chandran. I didn’t like the one that’s just won the MF, but I liked the sound of your review when I read it before, just hadn’t done anything about it yet.
    (Though the Q at the library, I can just guess how long it will be.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment