Niccolo Rising (The House of Niccolo #1), by Dorothy Dunnett

I’m always delighted to recommend Dorothy Dunnett’s novels!

ANZ LitLovers LitBlog

It’s taken a good long while for me to read Dorothy Dunnett’s classic work of historical fiction, and I must confess that what with the bushfire catastrophe absorbing most of my attention, Niccolò Rising hasn’t had my full concentration.  That’s no fault of the author: it’s a fine novel, and I can see why there are legions of Dorothy Dunnett fans. It’s just… well, all Australians understand about the anxiety that has commandeered our thoughts…

Niccolò Rising is the first novel in the series.  The House of Niccolò was written over a 14 year period and consists of

  1. Niccolò Rising, (1986) set in 15th century Europe and introducing the hero of the series
  2. The Spring of the Lamb (1987)
  3. Race of Scorpions (1989)
  4. Scales of Gold (1991)
  5. The Unicorn Hunt (1993)
  6. To Lie with Lions (1995)
  7. Caprice and Rondo (1997)
  8. Gemini (2000)

I was only half way through the book…

View original post 919 more words