A Map of Days (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #4) by Ransom Riggs

‘It’s strange what the mind can digest and what it resists.’

This is the fourth novel of Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, and the story shifts to America.  Jacob Portman returned to Florida at the end of the third novel where, as his parents are convinced he is insane, he is joined by Miss Peregrine and a number of the peculiar children.  The peculiars are trying to fit in to modern life, with varying degrees of success and some quite humorous moments.

But all is not well in American peculiardom as Jacob and his friends will soon find out.  You see, Jacob’s grandfather Abe had a few secrets, and Jacob begins to learn more about the peculiar world and his part in it.

‘The problem, really was that I was trying to navigate a world for which I had not been prepared.’

My reactions to this book are mixed.  The first two novels held my attention completely.  The third book was not quite as enthralling and while this book will appeal to many fans, for me it was a book too far.  I enjoyed parts of it (although there were fewer photographs) but the story itself barely held my attention. All good series need to come to an end and for me the logical end of this series was the third novel.

Jennifer Cameron-Smith

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s