Five years and 96 books later (thoughts on the Australian Women Writers Challenge)

I haven’t been participating in this challenge for quite as long as this participant.  Initially I was reluctant to sign on: I didn’t consciously avoid books written by women, but I did find that most of the authors I read were male.  Since signing on for this challenge (a few years ago), I’ve found myself consciously seeking out books by Australian women.  I’ve found myself revisiting old classics that I remember from my childhood, and finding new Australian women authors.

By reading and reviewing their books, I’m hoping that more readers will become aware of just how many excellent Australian women authors we have.  This year, I wrote reviews for 81 books.  Given more time, I could have read so many more.  This is a great challenge, and I’ll be back in 2017!

The Australian Women Writers Challenge was born five years ago out of a frustration that books written by women are not taken as seriously as those written by men. Not reviewed as much. Not awarded…

Source: Five years and 96 books later (thoughts on the Australian Women Writers Challenge)

2 thoughts on “Five years and 96 books later (thoughts on the Australian Women Writers Challenge)

Leave a Reply

