The Girl With A Clock For A Heart by Peter Swanson

Once I’d read Peter  Swanson’s second novel, The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson, I had to read his first novel.  I’m glad I did.  While I didn’t like ‘The Girl With A Clock For A Heart’ quite as much as ‘The Kind Worth Killing’, it’s well worth reading.

The Girl With A Clock For A Heart by Peter Swanson

‘I’ll know what I’m looking for when I find it.’

George Foss is in his late thirties, and it’s been twenty years since he last saw the girl who broke his heart.  Plenty of time, you’d think, for George to move on.  But, when he sees her again in his local bar in Boston, it’s clear that George is still obsessed with her.   When Liana Decter asks George to help her, he agrees.  This is despite knowing that Liana has never bought him anything but trouble.

The best way to read this novel is to avoid spoilers, and almost anything will be a spoiler.  Who is this woman?  Why is George so obsessed by her?  What is his history with her?  Is George particularly naïve?

While I enjoyed this novel, a few elements didn’t really work for me.  I suspect it’s because I’ve never known someone quite like George.  I hope I never know someone like Liana.

This was Mr Swanson’s first novel, and while I didn’t like it as much as his second (‘The Kind Worth Killing’), it kept me turning the pages.  And wondering about George.

Jennifer Cameron-Smith

 

Leave a Reply

